Baby Barto: Week 13

I was in Poland on business when I took this picture. I forgot to bring my purple tank & grey capris šŸ™‚

me at week 13: I definitely have a baby bump. A stranger actually recognized that I was pregnant, just by looking! (I don’t think I was sucking in, haha.) I was going back to the hotel on the tram, and a girl who was sitting stood up & offered me her seat. … At least I think she did; she spoke Polish.

Thank goodness (especially this week), I’m gaining a little more energy and I’m not completely dead tired by 8:00 at night! I do realize the importance of snacking during the day, however. The first day (my birthday, actually), I went all day, eating a normal sized breakfast and lunch, but then on the way home on the tram, I felt extremely nauseous. I thought I was going to have to get off for an emergency! Luckily I desperately started stuffing a granola bar in my mouth & everything was OK for the time being. That night, nothing sounded appetizing except some hot chocolate from room service.

On the way over to Poland, I became sick with a cold. Unfortunately, you cannot take many of the great cold medications while you’re pregnant (i.e. pseudoephedrine).Ā  Also unfortunately, I did not speak Polish & the pharmacist did not speak English. Thanks to my extremely nice Polish coworker, I survived the week after she brought me some pregnancy-safe cold medications.

Some thoughts on being a pregnant woman in Poland (pardon the tangent):

This week, working with my Polish collegues, I was very busy. Meeting after meeting, no breaks, long days, etc. On top of being sick, I felt like a mess.

All day long, my Polish coworkers tell me,
“You’re working too hard!”
“You need to take care of yourself, for the baby!”
“You need to take a rest.”
“Have a safe trip home… and remember to take care of yourself!”

Then I find out that, in many cases where they work, they get 9 months off, paid … during their pregnancy.

No WONDER they think I’m absolute nutso. They are probably thinking I’m endangering my child, as compared to what’s normal in their culture. Don’t even get me started on their amazing maternity leave policies.

It definitely makes me question / resent our attitude toward childbearing & child rearing in the US. No one ever tells me I’m working too hard in the US; they’re too busy telling me they need this thing, on their desk by tomorrow morning (nevermind that it’s 5:30 at night).

Observation / rant over.

Baby Barto at week 13: He is the size of a peach this week, almost 3 inches long. Fingerprints have formed on her tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin, and her body is starting to catch up with the size of her head. And — this is absolutely amazing to me– if she’s a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. When she reaches puberty, she will only have 400,000.

3 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 13

Leave a Reply

