Baby Barto: Week 14

me at week 14: I think it’s safe to say at this point that my nausea & utter exhaustion are gone for the most part. If I don’t eat for more than 5 hours, then I feel queasy, but that’s easy to prevent. Thank you, second trimester! 

However, Baby Barto is putting some pressure on my sciatic nerve, causing some intense pain in my left leg. Luckily, my great discovery this week was therefore very appropo: prenatal yoga. The class is once a week, and only 2 blocks from our home. It takes me just a little over 5 minutes to walk there! This is such an exciting novelty to me, since I need to drive 60 minutes to my workplace everyday. The class is perfect. It gives me exercises that help any pregnancy pain & help prepare for labor.  Most importantly, it gives me an hour to focus on myself and the baby, which can be hard during packed days at work. The women in the class are a great support, as well. It’s extremely refreshing to talk to other women going through the same changes&  trying to make the same decisions. I look forward to my yoga class all week!

Baby Barto at week 14: He is the size of a lemon this week, measuring about 3.5 inches.  This week’s big developments including her ability to squint, frown, grimace, pee & suck her thumb. His kidneys are producing urine, which he releases into the amniotic fluid around him. By the end of this week, her arms will have grown to a length that’s in proportion to the rest of her body (her legs still have some lengthening to do). He’s starting to develop an ultra-fine, downy covering of hair, called lanugo, all over his body. Aaaaand she’s still in the lead as the cutest thing ever created, 14 weeks straight.

Leave a Reply

