Baby Barto: Week 15

me at week 15: I’ve realized I do have a general craving: pasta. Specifically, spaghetti with marinara sauce. However, I have been known to settle for ramen noodle cups in a pinch.

Nothing much to report at this point. I bought a body pillow ($15, normally $52!) and it’s nice to use as I transition to side sleeping.

I really just feel like a normal person (surprise) who happens to be pregnant. Nothing to complain about! During this week, I am starting to be more vigilent about paying attention to my little tummy; I could feel Baby Barto movements at any time now! I’m looking forward to those movements; I would like to have more frequent validation of my baby’s actual presence in my belly, besides the monthly appointments to hear the heartbeat. Wake up & kick, Baby B! Mommy wants to feel you for the first time.  

Baby Barto at week 15: He is the size of an small-medium apple this week, measuring about 4 inches.  She’s moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in her lungs begin to develop. Although her eyelids are still fused shut, she can sense light. If I were to shine a flashlight at my tummy, apparently, she’s likely to move away from the beam.  If an ultrasound were to be done this week, I would maybe be able to find out whether Baby Barto is a he or a she… and so I could stop doing all of this pronoun switching. However, we won’t be finding out the gender until about week 20 (the ultrasound isn’t scheduled yet).

Leave a Reply

