Baby Barto: Week 16

{ my photographer is out of town on a hunting trip in Montana. }

me at week 16: I felt Baby Barto! I was actually helping facilitate an event at work, sitting at the front of the room, and felt the baby. It felt like he was turning over, and then there was a flutter. Really, really, amazing. I wish I more chances to sit still and try to feel her… it’s a comforting feeling and I’m looking forward to feeling more as the weeks progress.

Another milestone this week: I wore my first maternity pants. At this point, most maternity shirts are too large, but I did wear my first one to work during week 15. Around week 13, I started wearing a Bella Band, which allows you to not button your pants & still keep them up. 🙂 It worked really well for about 3 weeks, but this week, I found that it created a lot more bulk than I would like around my waistline. So, I wore my first pair of maternity pants: Gap’s demi panel perfect trouser pants. Why doesn’t everyone wear maternity pants? All they are are normal pants with a big, comfortable elastic waistband instead of a zipper & hook/eye. Why we ever went away from elastic waistbands as a kid is a mystery to me.

Baby Barto at week 16: She is about the size of an avacado, 4 1/2 inches long and weighs 3 1/2 ounces.  He’s starting a huge growth spurt now: in the next few weeks, he will double his weight and add inches to his length. His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than before and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. Her ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of her scalp has begun, and her heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day! (Amazing.)

2 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 16

Leave a Reply

