Baby Barto: Week 17

… wow, it’s been a while! Here are some posts I had been working on, but never published. I’ll be playing catch-up over the next few days. Life has been a bit crazy in the Barto household!

{ my photographer is still hunting 🙂 }

me at week 17: Not too much to report! I feel pretty normal (good news). My bump isn’t too prevalent, but definitely beginning to make its presence known. This leads to some quizzical looks (especially from men) at work. I just let them wonder. I only really “announced” it in a one-on-one with my boss and then to my small team in a staff meeting.

My sciatic nerve is still feeling a bit of pressure. This week I went to a chiropractor for the first time, who specializes in prenatal care. She’s also a doula and childbirth instructor. She adjusted my hip bones, some misalignments in my mid-back, neck, as well as hands (all joints tend to get flexy during pregnancy). During pregnancy, the bones and ligaments spread in order to make room for the growing baby and prepare for delivery. If the pelvis is misaligned, it could make it difficult for Baby Barto to get into the best possible position for delivery. She also gave me some exercises to help alleviate/anticipate any pain. I think I would most do anything to help make for a better delivery.:)

Baby Barto at week 17: He is about 5 inches long from head to bottom and weighs about 5 ounces.  Her skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord is growing stronger and thicker. He can move her joints, and his sweat glands are starting to develop. She’s still continuing her movements… just little flutters here and there.

Leave a Reply

