(Baby Barto: Week 19.) It’s a …

… sweet baby girl!

{ before we went to the ultrasound }

The ultrasound started looking down at her head. It was funny, because we saw her head, and that was easy to comprehend, but then we saw, very clearly, a foot. She was actually in a pike position, with her feet above her head! Silly girl 🙂 It was pretty cute. From this perspective, we could also see her hands covering her face. Apparently we caught her in a shy mood.

Then the tech moved down from her head, looking at cross-sections of her torso (looking for specific organs, such as the gallbladder and kidneys – both healthy!).  The tech got down to her toosh, circled the two white lines down there and told us she is a girl! I immediately got emotional. It was a really special moment for us that I’ll remember forever.

Little girl was turned on her side such that we got some great shots her looking right at us (with her hands still in front of her face, and – though you can’t see it in these shots – her feet still above her head).

The tech was so amazing, and tried pretty hard to get the typical profile shot. She had me turn on my left side, then my right side … I massaged my belly a bit … little girl was very stubborn and not turning for anything 🙂 At one point, she started to turn, but in the wrong direction. The tech was so nice to spend the extra time just to get a shot. She got a semi-side profile picture … you can just see the tip of her little nose.

The ultrasounds have been one of my favorite parts during the pregnancy. You only get a couple of chances to get a glimpse at the person you created before they are actually born. After the ultrasound, I was on cloud 9 and didn’t want to do anything but celebrate. We went to Panera for lunch (celebration!) and then I went to work.

me at week 19: My bump is starting to pop! At this point, I can’t wear regular pants anymore, but I can still wear several of my regular tops. I’m so lucky to have 2 great sisters-in-law, who have lent me some of their maternity clothes. Tina lent me her maternity winter coat and Becca lent me all of her maternity clothes … and 99% of it fits! I’m so lucky. I especially love the fact that the Gap jeans fit … that saved me a lot of money right there. So far, thanks to those hand-me-downs and gift cards, I’ve only spent a small amount on some other essentials for work.

I really don’t have anything to complain about. During this week. I flew to Paris for a week. The plane ride there was a bit rough because I was in coach. Even though I was in the “economy plus” seats, I could not get comfortable for the life of me, since reclining the seat still put me on my back, creating more pressure on my legs. I wanted to turn on my side, but it’s near impossible in a seat! Not complaining too loud, though … I was lucky to have the experience to go to Paris. And, on the way back, I lucked out and was in business class. More on that later!

Baby Barto at week 19:  She weighs about 8.5 oz and measures 6 inches head to bottom, about the size of an heirloom tomato (very specific). Her arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of her body now. The hair on her scalp is sprouting. A waxy protective coating called the vernix caseosa is forming on her skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.  A lot of sensory development is happening this week: her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. Some research suggests that she may be able to hear our voice now. Oh dear … that means she may now know how goofy her parents are. Better she get used to it now.

Leave a Reply

