Baby Barto: Week 20

me at week 20: My first heartburn strikes! It only happened once and was well-deserved. It was the night of Thanksgiving, and we ate a beautiful, HUGE meal at my family’s house. I just ate way too much, and heartburn kicked in.

I do notice that I go through surges of hunger. For example, I had spaghetti with marinara sauce (one of my very few cravings) for lunch one Sunday, and afterward, felt like I had eaten nothing at all! I listened to my body in that case and had another helping. I figure as long as I’m not doing that all of the time, I’m OK. It really only happens once in a while, where I have insatiable hunger.

On the topic of cravings – it’s just been pasta. However, I really have a penchant for spaghetti with marinara (with/without meatsauce or meatballs) and noodles with broth … Ramen cups are perfect for this 🙂 Several times, I’ve made a cup of ramen, then steamed a bag of Steamfresh mixed veggies … then I’ll mix the two together. I feel better about the situation when there’s a ton of veggies involved.

The sciatica pain is still there and painful – but only sometimes.

I have been keeping up with a workout routine as much as possible. It’s been difficult during this time because the end of the quarter is so stressful at work. I go to weekly prenatal yoga (I love to walk there – only 2 blocks away!), jog a couple times a week, do pregnancy DVDs (borrowed from Becca – thanks again), and do stretches before bed with Michael. The stretches include cat-cows, squats, and the pigeon pose (opens up the hip joints … it’s painful at first, but after you ease into it, it feels amazing).

Baby Barto at week 20:  She weighs about 10.5 ounces now, and is around 10 inches from head to heel … hello chiquita! She’s swallowing more, which is good practice for her digestive system. She’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in her bowels, and we’ll hopefully be so lucky to see this in her diapers during the first week after birth.

Leave a Reply

