Baby Barto: Week 22

me at week 22: I had a regular, but quite eventful OB appointment with Michael this week (I’ll get to that later). Don’t worry, the baby is quite healthy. This was the first time the doctor measured my tummy, and he said I’m measuring a week ahead – I’m sure that will change over time. At my most recent ultrasound, my placenta looked like it could be covering my cervix (placenta previa), so the doctor will be doing another ultrasound just to check things out on Jan 5. Most often, if the placenta is covering the cervix at this point, it will move out of the way before labor.

So.

When you’re pregnant and you go in for an OB appointment, the routine is to immediately give a urine sample. Like any other appointment, I complied.

However, I went to a new office location and their sample routine was a little different. In the bathroom where you give the sample, instead of having a little metal cubby in the wall where you would set the finished cup, they just had a rolly cart.

Maybe you think you see where this is going. Oh no, I can assure you, it was worse.

Another pregnant lady had done her sample right before me, so her (quite full) cup was on the metal rolly cart just inside the bathroom.

No big deal … gross, but I can handle seeing someone else’s pee in a cup.

I go in, take a new cup, write my name on it, set it down, and proceed to KNOCK OVER THE OTHER PEE CUP.

 

So I’m standing there, possibly with my pants around my ankles (maybe), staring at the situation. Stranger’s pee is all over the rolly cart and the floor, with not so much as a drop left in the cup.

 

I think I stood there for 5 whole minutes …. because that didn’t just happen. Right? That would never happen.

It did.

 

I cleaned up the stranger’s pee, did my sample, took a big breath, and went outside to discreetly find a nurse.

No nurse to be found, OF course, so I had to whisper to the receptionist … in full view of the waiting area … which contained the stranger whose pee I just cleaned up.

I think my face remained the same shade of scarlet for the entirety of the the visit. I didn’t know who knew about what happened … so I just assumed everyone did.

 

I would have loved to hear the nurse tell the stranger lady that she had to muster up some new pee because a clumsy other preggo decided to rinse the bathroom floor with her first sample.

::: mortified :::

 

But I digress.

Baby Girl Barto at week 22:  At 11 inches (the length of a spaghetti squash) and almost 1 pound, little Miss Barto starting to look like a miniature newborn. Her lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct, and she’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath her gums. Her eyes have formed, but her irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment. Fine hair (lanugo) covers her body, as well as deep wrinkles on her skin, which she’ll sport until she adds a padding of fat to fill them in. Inside her belly, her pancreas — essential for the production of some important hormones — is developing steadily.

One thought on “Baby Barto: Week 22

Leave a Reply

