Baby Barto: Week 24

me at week 24: This is a nice week. I can relax, just like the pregnancy books tell me to – it’s Christmas break! Danger also lurks in the holiday sweets available at every turn … especially at my family’s house. However, I was better about working out this week, since I had time off. Jogging, yoga, and DVDs are still helping me feel healthy.

This week, Mom and my sister got to feel little Miss Barto kick, and Dad felt her move a little bit. That was a lot of fun. One of the things I’m most looking forward to is seeing my parents be grandparents for the first time, and seeing my brother & sister be an uncle and aunt. Baby girl Barto is already surrounded by so much love. 

One morning during my week off, I visited a local daycare. It came highly recommended, and it lived up to its reputation. I was impressed with the level of care, and the curriculum for all of the different levels (infants, toddlers, preschool). The infants were happily playing. The toddlers were reading a French book and putting on a nativity scene. The preschoolers were caroling around to the different rooms and also learning about the different bones in the skeleton (I saw a little boy writing the word “phalanges”  …!).  Afterward, I was just so excited for our little girl to be exposed to all of these opportunities.

Unfortunately, there is a year-long waiting list, so we’ll need to find interim care – but both Michael and I are pretty happy with this eventual opportunity for our little girl.  

Baby Girl Barto at week 24: She is growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. Since she’s almost a foot long, she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.


One thought on “Baby Barto: Week 24

Leave a Reply

