Baby Barto: Week 28

me at week 28:  Let’s see. Not too much to report. I feel pretty great, for being in my third trimester. I’m still doing prenatal yoga once a week, which I love. This week, we also took our first birthing class, through my prenatal yoga studio. She taught us different poses to prepare our bodies for labor & poses that could be helpful for coping during labor. She talked about Optimal Fetal Positioning (OFP) and how it’s important to encourage the baby to not have her back against my back when in labor (often referred to as back labor). Michael and I had already been doing a few of the exercises on a regular basis (like cat-cows), but she gave us so many more good stretches/positions to consider.

What else … oh yes, more progress on the nursery …Pinterest board). I need to spend more time doing than pinning. (Here’s more where that came from … and it’s no surprise that Michael has said some things pretty close to these guys – and looks hotter. Bonus!)

I am making progress on the nursery, though! The crib is ordered & I think I’ve decided on some colors to work around. Decorating is a very gradual process for me. I don’t like deadlines. However, I love design! I decorate in my head a lot … when I’m sitting through a especially boring meeting, you can count on me to make the most of that time and decide what lay pattern the kitchen tile should be, whether the crib skirt should be a pattern or solid, or whether we should repurpose something instead of buy new. Maaajor progress happening up there.

This week (Friday, to be exact), I had a special moment with our baby girl. I was sitting at my desk at work, and I felt her stretch one of her extremities & just hold it out there for several seconds. I lightly pressed my hand against that spot on my belly and enjoyed the moment. I love every single one of her little movements, and it is so exciting to feel those movements change as she grows. It is hands down, my favorite part of pregnancy. I cannot wait to meet this little girl, with whom I’ve already connected … but haven’t met face-to-face. What an amazing moment that will be.

Baby Girl Barto at week 28:  By this week, she weight 2.25 pounds (“like a Chinese cabbage” … ?) and measures 14.8 inches from the top of her head to her heels. She can blink her eyes, which now have lashes (hopefully she inherits her daddy’s!). With her eyesight developing, she may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb. She’s also continuing to develop billions of neurons in her brain and adding more body fat.

This is what she may look like at week 28.

3 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 28

  1. I love all your comments and observations. It makes me think back to when I was pregnant with you, and how excited and blessed I was!

Leave a Reply

