kitchen reveal.

When we bought this house in September of 2010, we knew we wanted to renovate the kitchen. I didn’t have any specific ideas in mind, but I wanted the space to be more open & airy, with clean lines, yet true to the character of the house. I’ll let the before/after pictures speak for themselves, but I think this was accomplished.

I want to say, first of all, that Hurst Total Home did all of the work, from the layout, to the structural considerations, to the actual construction. We were very pleased with the team we worked with at Hurst, and would recommend them to anyone in the Dayton, Ohio area. While they did all of the hard work, I had fun picking out the textile-type aspects of the kitchen … cabinets, counters, hardware, tile, etc. 🙂

{before}

{after}

{before}

{after}

(those 3 drawers still need hardware… 1 of a couple minor details yet to be finished.)

{before}

{after}

{before}

{after}

{before}

{after}

{before}

{after}

Ta daaaa!

We still can’t believe it’s our kitchen. We cooked dinner in it for the first time last night, and I think we both felt a little timid. I was so accustomed to using the microwave in the living room and the fridge in the dining room … I still found myself going to get water from the gallon jug in the dining room fridge, even though the water dispenser in the new fridge is fully functional.

Some details … the cabinets are custom by DeWils (black is stain, white is paint), counters are Cambria quartz, hardware is by Amerock, and all appliances are from the GE Cafe line except for the drawer microwave, which is Sharp.

{quartz counters by Cambria}

We had some more work done around the house by the same contracting company; I’ll post about those later. We loved our home before the renovations, but now … we LOVE our home 🙂  The functionality, design, character, warmth … it’s kind of ridiculous how much I love our home.

12 thoughts on “kitchen reveal.

  1. What can I say, but WOW!!! This was the first time I got to look at the pictures. I am so impressed. What a great layout!!!

  2. I was surprised you moved the sink when I first saw the photos – but then I realized why — all that great prep space by the stove!! Great move! It’s a beautiful redo!

  3. It’s absolutely gorgeous!! I love the whole design scheme—the cabinets, appliances, floors, and countertops are all things I would’ve chosen too! The quartz countertops are a beautiful pattern—I definitely thought they were marble from afar! Love it!!!

  4. Hi Ashley! I stumbled upon your blog and am exploring Cambria quartz as a countertop option for our kitchen renovation. Your kitchen is stunning! I was leaning towards Torquay before I saw how nicely your counters look with the white cabinetry, which we’ve decided on. If you see this, I’d love to know which ‘color’ it is. It looks like Praa Sands to me but I wasn’t sure!

    We have also decided on glass subway tile as our backsplash but laid horizontally- I never would have thought of doing it vertically but love how yours turned out! What color is that? It almost looks like it has some blue in it. Did you paint the wall and then lay it, and if so, did that affect how the color reads? Sorry if that’s a dumb question, I’m still pretty new to this!

    I hope you see this and have a minute to respond but regardless congratulations on a beautiful kitchen reno!

    • Hilary, Thanks for the compliments!

      I am so happy we went with Cambria. The counters are a dream to clean up, maintain & are not porous. The Cambria pattern we chose was Bellingham – very close to Praa Sands! I love the Bellingham. The sample picture on Cambria’s site doesn’t do it justice. It may sound weird, but there are actually tiny flecks of what look like diamonds embedded in the design … and it looks fantastic.

      As for the glass subway tile – we switched to this particular tile at the last minute & I’m not sure of the company who makes it. It’s a light taupe/tan color that matches the taupe color running through the countertops. We had Hurst Total Home do all of the planning & work; so unfortunately, I cannot answer your question regarding the wall paint & how it affects the glass tile hue! It’s a good question. I recommend searching “Katie Hurst Hursttotalhome” on Facebook; Katie was our designer and I’m sure she can answer any question you may have.

      Thanks again.

      • Thank you so much for the response 🙂 I’m glad to hear the feedback on the Cambria in particular, it makes me feel like we’re making the right choice! I appreciate your taking the time to answer my questions.

        AND I see from your blog that you are expecting any day now! Congratulations and good luck!

        All the best, Hilary

      • Thank you!

        Good luck to you; we didn’t have the courage to take on the kitchen renovation all by ourselves. I hope it goes really well for you; I’d love to see before/after pictures!

Leave a Reply

