Baby Barto: Week 30

 

me at week 30: Week 30!? This pregnancy is flying by.

This weekend, while Michael was in Vegas for his “man shower,” I had a dream that I went skydiving while pregnant. I had gone skydiving in June with my brother (in reality) and in my dream, I also went skydiving with him. It didn’t occur to me that I was pregnant & really shouldn’t be skydiving until after I got down to the earth.

Since our life insurance company was nervous because I went skydiving in the last year, they made me promise that I can’t go skydiving ever again, or else my insurance would be voided. So, don’t worry Mom, I won’t be running off to dive out of a plane as soon as Baby Girl is born. 🙂

Also, I thought this was really fascinating. It’s an interactive graphic that shows how my organs move & make room for Little Girl Barto throughout the pregnancy. Being pregnant has really made me realize how absolutely amazing the human body is. My organs knowing what to do with themselves (and still function), as well as my body knowing how to make another human out of a few particular cells is mind-boggling.

Baby Girl Barto at week 30:  Baby Girl Barto is about 15.7 inches long now, and she weighs almost 3 pounds (like a head of cabbage). A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds her, but that volume will decrease as she gets bigger and takes up more room in my uterus. Her eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen; even after she’s born, she’ll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When she does open them, she’ll respond to changes in light but will have 20/400 vision — which means she can only make out objects a few inches from her face. (Normal adult vision is 20/20.) … Interestingly, right after she’s born, the perfect distance for her to make out facial features is the distance from my face to hers while breastfeeding.

{Most of this fun information is from babycenter.com}

Leave a Reply

