Baby Barto: Week 31

me at week 31: This week, we started Bradley childbirth classes. We meet with the instructor and 4 other couples once a week, for 8 weeks. The Bradley method is based upon relaxation during labor & delivery while positioning your body in the most effective ways possible to allow for a healthy birth. We talk a lot about good nutrition during pregnancy and learn exercises and relaxation techniques to prepare for childbirth.  I like that the class is small & intimate, so people aren’t normally afraid to ask about any concern they have.

In my neighborhood, there is a mom’s group that I’m slowly becoming a part of. There’s an email distribution to use to ask for recommendations, give away or sell items, etc. I put out a request to see if anyone had a spring maternity coat for me to borrow for a couple of months. No one had one, but I got a nice reply from another mom who had a bunch of maternity clothes to give away! This week, I went over to her house to pick them up, and boy … did I strike it rich! She had some really nice clothes, which is a huge help to save some monies before Little Miss is born 🙂 I had already so generously received some maternity clothes from my sisters-in-law, but I still needed more items, especially for work. I am so grateful for this mom’s group already. Through the email list, I have received a bunch of new breastmilk storage bags (free), a booster seat (free) and a Baby Bjorn carrier and JJ Cole Bundle Me for a very small cost. The support of the group will be beneficial after Baby Girl is born, I’m sure.

This week I took a video of Little Miss moving around. I had been out shopping all day at the outlets with my friend, Laurel, and was exhausted (I’m finding this is a common theme of third trimester). I was lying on my side on the couch & our little baby was doing some pretty intense exercises 🙂

(Keep your eyes on the upper portion of the video, the left side of my belly.)

{video embedded}

Baby Girl Barto at week 31:  This week, she measures over 16 inches long.  Baby Girl weighs about 3.3 pounds (try carrying four navel oranges) and is heading into a growth spurt. She can turn his head from side to side, and his arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath his skin. She’s probably moving a lot, too (check), so Mommy may have trouble sleeping because your baby’s kicks and somersaults keep you up. All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy (yay!).

{Most of this fun information is from babycenter.com}

3 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 31

  1. That video is amazing! And the Bradley Method sounds great… nice to avoid the competing meds of pitocen and epidurals if you can. Do you plan to deliver in a hospital?

    • I agree! I do plan to deliver in a hospital, but it’s actually a separate birthing center within the hospital, separate from the normal maternity ward. It’s called Family Beginnings & it has more of a home-like, relaxing atmosphere. The rooms also have HUGE jacuzzi tubs, which I’m pretty excited about 🙂

Leave a Reply

