Baby Barto: Week 33

me at week 33: This week, Little Miss Barto, her daddy and I went to a Black Keys concert with my brother & his girlfriend. Little girl was a trooper 🙂 She’s going to be a very cultured newborn, having already been to 2 concerts (this one & Death Cab) and 2 foreign countries (Poland & France).

She definitely feels like she’s packing on the weight. I’m still sleeping great (such a blessing, from what I hear at this point in pregnancy) on my side, but when I try to get out of bed, her weight comes as a surprise to me. She’s just so OUT there & cantilevered! I have to be very careful with my movements. I think I’ve startled more than a few (mostly male) coworkers when turning corners … their “Whoa!” isn’t that discreet 🙂 I love it though; I’m pretty proud of my belly & the miracle that is happening inside.

The heartburn is pretty intense this week. I keep Tums by my bedside because the heartburn normally strikes when I lay down to go to bed.  They say that heartburn is a sign of the baby growing hair.  We will see … I was a bald baby & from what I understand, Michael was fairly bald as well. But who knows, maybe she inherited her father’s wavy ‘fro early on. I’m pretty excited to eventually discover what color hair she has … it’s a toss-up. Michael was very blonde as a child, and I’ve always been very dark-haired.

Michael was also out west on business for most of the week. While he was gone, he wrote 4 beautiful Haikus for our baby girl. I can only share two of them, because the other two include her name 🙂

Spring baby, don’t cry

When clouds pass, the flowers bloom

Your smile is the sun

(I love that one)

The moon from the sky

The stars down from the heavens

Anything for you

Baby Girl Barto at week 33:  This week, little girl weighs a little over 4 pounds (about the weight of a pineapple) and has passed the 17-inch mark. She’s rapidly losing that wrinkled look and her skeleton is hardening. The bones in her skull aren’t fused together, which allows them to move and slightly overlap, thus making it easier for him to fit through the birth canal. These bones don’t entirely fuse until early adulthood, so they can grow as her brain and other tissue expands during infancy and childhood.

{Most of this fun information is from babycenter.com}

3 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 33

  1. You look so beautiful! You really are glowing! I am so glad you have documented so much of your pregnancy. It will really mean a lot to you and baby girl, in the years ahead!

Leave a Reply

