Baby Barto: Week 34

me at week 34: Another very exciting week! My mom, Emily, Chris’ girlfriend Carley & two of my best friends got together to celebrate little girl Barto. It was such a great day. We went out for a fabulous lunch & then we all got pedicures! The spa was exceptionally luxurious.  We all relaxed & drank wine (… or delicious sparkling cranberry) as we were pampered.

(Thanks for the pedicures, Mom!)

Then we came home & visited … which involved Killer Brownies from Dorothy Lane Market, a spinach & artichoke dip that was devoured in seconds (courtesy of Chef Darrell), Big Sky Bread pizza & Dorothy Lane cake. The day was definitely what I would consider as every pregnant woman’s dream. Let’s also not forget the delectable lemon drop martinis (courtesy of Bartender Darrell).  Next time, however, we will learn to distinguish the non-alcoholic martinis from the alcoholic ones. I sipped one that had a little heat to it, not being able to really tell if it had alcohol because it was so sweet (even after a 2nd & 3rd opinion)! After sipping an abandoned martini, I discovered that one was definitely the non-alcoholic one 🙂

I am so blessed to have my family and friends in my life. This little girl is already so loved.

{some very generous gifts}

{an amazing piece of art that Carley made for the nursery. I love it so much.}

{clearly entertained by the gift opening.}

{oooo… a swing}

{like I said, clearly entertained. :)}

{a whole bin full of books! Little girl is going to be in heaven.}

{eating, drinking, visiting}

{our new ledge: perfect for perching.}

{who is that lush with all of the martinis?}

{my beautiful sister.}

{C+C}

{Mom & Dad.}

{a Dorothy Lane cake … Baby B enjoyed it very much.}

I had a doctor’s appointment this week; at this point, we’re going every 2 weeks. I’ll start going weekly at 36w. Everything looks healthy! The midwife says I’m measuring 1-2 weeks ahead (fundal height) but it’s well within the typical variation. Her heartbeat was strong (she was very active during the appointment, so it was in the 150s) and she was positioned head-down.  Little girl is continuing to be extremely active, especially right after I wake up, before & after meals, and after I lie down on my side for sleep.

This week I also went to the local Dar a Luz meeting. Dar a Luz is centered around education, support & just overall community in regards to raising your children. The group of women meets once a month, only 5 minutes from our house. Each time, there’s a general topic to discuss, but it’s very casual and open … it can lead to any subject. This month’s topic was induction. It was good timing for this topic, as I’m getting close to the due date! Luckily, I have a very relaxed doctor who is not in any rush to induce labor for any unnecessary reasons. I loved the environment of the meeting; it was very open & welcoming. Some of the moms bring their kids along – there were even newborn triplets there!

This week was a busy week; I also had a prenatal massage with April Kline. It was the 2nd time she’s worked on me and it’s just … heaven. If you are pregnant (or not pregnant), I highly recommend regular massages. Along with yoga, I believe the massages have helped me to stay physically & mentally fit throughout these past 7.5 months.  I had some sciatica pain in the late 1st trimester & early 2nd trimester, but ever since, I have been relatively pain free.  In my opinion, it’s been helped by a combination of nightly stretching, 1-2 yoga sessions per week (I could definitely stand for more) and regular massage.  I think Baby Girl also likes it … whenever I get a massage on my lower back, she just lights up & wiggles all around.

Baby Girl Barto at week 34:  She now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (like a cantaloupe!) and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers — which will help regulate her body temperature once she’s born — are filling her out, making her rounder. Her skin is also smoother than ever. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. It’s a relief to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies!

{Most of this fun information is from babycenter.com}

One thought on “Baby Barto: Week 34

  1. Love your 34w bump:) The pic of your mom is adorable. I’m glad you were able to get pampered before your big day!

Leave a Reply

