chicken tikka masala + naan

This is a really yummy, quick meal – especially if you can prepare everything beforehand (mince the onion & ginger, cut the chicken, let the naan dough rise). We used the spices in the tikka masala as called out below, and the spice level was fairly mild (perfect for me). I would imagine you could add more chili powder to add more heat. My favorite part about this meal was the naan. It was really easy to make, and so delicious right out of the frying pan. However, the naan (in my opinion) didn’t heat up that well for leftovers … it was only about 40% as good as it was fresh πŸ™‚

Chicken Tikka Masala – recipe from Skinny Taste

2 tsp canola oil or you could use butter (I used oil)
1 small onion, minced (I omitted)
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 1/2 cups crushed tomatoes
4 oz fat free yogurt (I used Chobani)
1/2 cup 1% milk
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp garam masala*
1 tsp turmeric (optional) (I omitted)
1/2 tbsp chili powder
salt to taste
16 oz (2 boneless) chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
4 tbsp fresh cilantro (or to taste) (I omitted)

* If you can’t find pre-mixed garam masala, you can use this as a guideline for the spices it includes.
Heat oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until golden. Add the crushed ginger, stir for a few minutes then add the garlic and cook another minute. Add cumin, garam masala, turmeric, chili powder, and salt; mix well until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, yogurt and milk. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 10 minutes. Add chicken and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes or until cooked through. Add a generous amount of chopped cilantro and serve with Basmati Rice or Naan. (I don’t like cilantro, so I skipped that. We served with jasmine rice – it’s stickier than basmati – and naan.)

 

Naan – recipe from the little red house

1/2 cup warm water
2 tsp active dry yeast
1 tsp sugar
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup canola oil
1/3 cup plain yogurt (Chobani again)
1 large egg
melted butter or oil, for frying (I used canola oil)

In a large bowl, stir together the water, yeast and sugar and let stand for 5 minutes, until foamy. Stir in the flour, salt, oil, yogurt and egg and stir, then knead until you have a soft, pliable dough. Cover with a tea towel and let rise until doubled in size; about an hour. Divide the dough into 6-8 pieces and on a lightly floured surface, roll out each piece into a thin circle or oval. Cook each naan in a nice hot skillet drizzled with oil (just a teeny tiny bit–you’re not frying it like a scone) until blistered and cooked, flipping as necessary. (When the surface has big blisters and is golden on the bottom, flip it over and cook until golden on the other side. Makes about 8 naan.

3 thoughts on “chicken tikka masala + naan

  1. This sounds delicious! I’m a huge fan of Indian food and I have an amazing coworker that will cook for me every once and a while…I try but I can never seem to recreate her dishes. The one dish I got pretty close with was called Channa (chickpea) Masala. It has very similar spices to this recipe and it’s delicious with rice and naan!! Very healthy too πŸ™‚

  2. I tried the naan recipe, and was mostly pleased. It was pretty easy, and I loved the texture of the bread. My only complaint is that the recipe as written is too light on salt. I’ll have to remember to add more next time.

Leave a Reply

