Baby Barto: Week 40

me at week 40:  You can deduce a few facts from the picture above. (1) maternity shirts don’t even fit me any more. (2) I’m tired.

Of course, during the last couple of weeks, I’ve felt fairly constantly tired. However, I was blessed to get a fairly good night’s rest. The last few nights have been very touch-and-go, thanks to the PUPPPs. For those of you who didn’t Google that last time, it stands for Pruritic Urticarial Papules and Plaques of Pregnancy. Definitely makes you want to Google it now, huh? (Who comes up with the names of these conditions?)

Anyways, I have found that ice packs around my ankles do help at night, but there are a few logistical hurdles with this method. Your typical ice packs don’t stay cold through the night, so taking them out of the freezer, getting them firmly attached some way to your ankles & falling asleep all before they lose their effectiveness can be quite a challenge. Straight up ice in a Ziploc, wrapped in a towel, and attached with an ace bandage works well … until the Ziploc leaks … which I’ve learned is inevitable & sets you up for a less-than-pleasant wake-up in the middle of the night. I think I may try Ziplocs within Ziplocs tonight and hope for the best. Now, this only takes care of the ankles, and doesn’t address the elbows, underarms, belly, etc, etc, nor the heartburn brought on by lying down, nor the nasty cold that is still lingering, nor the backaches that come from lugging a person around all day.

What did I say yesterday? I wouldn’t spend too much time complaining & be grateful for our little healthy baby?

Yes. So. Healthy baby topic! I had a doctor appointment this morning & did a nonstress test. For this, they hooked me up to the electronic fetal heart monitor for about 20-30 minutes. Every time baby girl moved, I was supposed to press a button. Each time she moved, they were looking for a 15-20 bpm increase in her heart rate from the baseline. At first, baby girl was napping, but after some crackers, ice water, and her father asking her nicely (which actually worked the best), she got some strong movements in and passed the test very well.

Since she did well on the test, this demonstrates that my placenta (her life support) is still functioning well & we don’t have to evict her just yet. However, the receptionist did write up an eviction notice for her and instruct me to wear it on my belly until she decides to come out. She said it would be a great “point of conversation.” Right, woman, like I need my belly to be more “points of conversation.”

The midwife asked if I would like to have my membranes stripped, especially with the rash … but I declined. Hopefully little girl will decide to come on her very own, and the next baby-related post will start with a picture of her sweet face.

Baby Girl Barto at week 40:  It’s hard to say for sure how big Baby Girl Barto will be, but the average newborn weighs about 7 1/2 pounds (a small pumpkin) and is about 20 inches long. Her skull bones are not yet fused, which allows them to overlap a bit if it’s a snug fit through the birth canal during labor [if it’s a snug fit? I’d like to find a mom who ever thought it wasn’t.]. This so-called “molding” is the reason baby girl’s noggin may look a little conehead-ish after birth. Rest assured — it’s normal and temporary.

{Most of this fun information is from babycenter.com}

3 thoughts on “Baby Barto: Week 40

  1. Ashley, My mom had Pup rash with all of us. Not many people have heard of it, and usually they think you’re playing some strange joke when you tell them about it. Crazy. Hope it stops bugging you soon & that you guys get to see her sooner than later! Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

